Line of Progression – the first works.


Bunny Love….gouache on pergamenata, outlines Micron pens. Source: Pontifical of Guillaume Durand, Avignon, before 1390. Paris, Bibliothèque Saint Geneviève, MS 143, fol. 165r.

The first was a marginalia, I fell in love with the “insane bunnies” (my term) from the margins of books created so long ago. This was just for me, to prove to myself that I could do it. I really had no idea of technique, shading, blending, or how the original was created. And yet, it is a favorite – my first baby.

Border…gouache on pergamenata, mica gold paint, on outlines. Source: Walters MS W.168, fol. 221r, Book of Hours.

This border was made for my first meeting at the request of my (now) laurel, Baroness Michel Almond de Champagne, OL, OP to see where I was starting. It is messy and sloppy, lines are uneven, no shading and no clue on paint. Yet, it was a start, proof to myself that I could take an extant examplar and create a passable copy that could be useful. More, it is a reminder of how my SCA world opened up that day and I was strongly encouraged to do more and better. Learning techniques and, my first lesson: use the best tools that you can obtain/afford and use the proper tools right from the start (why use acrylics when they didn’t exist?).

This is my first attempt at a hand. I was a bit dismayed to realize that I was expected to be able to do the calligraphy as well as make pretty pictures…my brain finds this to be much more difficult. I figured this would be good practice, using a nib pen for the first time, and creating a “fancy” initial. At the time, I felt it was quite spiffy! Obviously, the ink smears, letter spacing and letter height are the marks of someone who has no idea, but it was a start!

Leave a comment