Puffin Joy

Puffin’s Golden Dolphin

My first use of the Mira Calligraphiae Monumenta as an exemplar (more discussion on this exemplar here). This was one of those scrolls that came together so easily in my mind. The recipient is a dear friend and her heraldry is a puffin. Combining a puffin with Squashed Bug technique automatically brought to mind the Mira.

I found a photo with a puffin holding an iris (my favorite flower) in its beak (they use them for nests). Missing feet, I had to find another and adjust them to fit the flower puffin. I placed it below as with the Mira, found a pleasing text font from the exemplar and wrote her scroll, using one of the loops to surround the Golden Dolphin award.

This scroll is gouache on pergamenata with gold leaf on gesso for the cadelled primary letter.

Leave a comment